Monday, May 30, 2011

"The Power of Love ..."

"The power of love
A force from above
Cleaning my soul
Flame on burn desire
Love with tongues of fire
Purge the soul
Make love your goal"
~ Frankie Goes to Hollywood ~ The Power of Love ~

Over this past weekend, we had a wonderful visit from my close girlfriend Ann.  Ann lives in California with her family, but we are childhood friends and met in Calgary.  We had a chance to visit, talk, share, play and laugh.  We put in the effort to stay in touch and be involved in each others lives.  Distance can be hard, we manage, and some days are a bit better than others, but we do because we Love each other.  In regards to Love, one of the conversations brought on the discussion of the Five Languages of Love.  We discussed each others Love language, checking in to support each other, validate each other.  Even after so many years together, it just further helps nourish and enrich our friendship.  

So what is a Love Language?  A primary way of expressing and interpreting Love.  And oddly enough, we are drawn to those who speak a different language than our own.  Of countless ways to express ourselves to each other, five key categories or love languages are proved to be universal and comprehensive.  Once we understand each others language of love, we can work on further building our relationships and a rebirth of Love.

The Five Languages are:
  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gift
  • Acts of Service
  • and Physical Touch

Words of Affirmation ~ unsolicited compliments mean the world to you; "I Love You" can soar your spirits and fill your soul.  Insults can shatter you and are not easily forgotten.

Quality Time ~ words aside, uninterrupted, undivided attention is what you crave; being there for this person is critical showing them that they are special and loved.  Distractions and postponing dates are hurtful to them.

Receiving Gifts ~  not to be mistaken for materialism, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you.

Acts of Service ~ easing the burden of responsibilities weighing on the person can be an expression of love; laziness, broken commitments and creating further work for them shows that their feelings don't matter

Physical Touch ~ Holding hands, Hugs and pats on the back are an example of this type of language showing concern, care and love.  Neglect or abuse of physical presence or accessibility can be hard to forgive and destructive.

By simply identifying and using the appropriate Love Language, we can help our relationships, short or long term, new or childhood, young or old.  Getting additional information is always a sign of wisdom, and asking “I need your help in understanding this,” is always a good way to begin.  

No comments:

Post a Comment